General Thomas Harris School Museum
This two-story, brick building was constructed in 1878 with two rooms on the first floor and a double stairway leading to two more second-story classrooms connected by an office for the principal. The school had its first student to finish a high school curriculum in 1891. Thirteen years later, in 1904, eight students graduated and two additional first-floor class rooms and a second-story auditorium were added. High school classes were moved to a new building in 1924, while grades 1-8 remained. The Ritchie County Board of Education began using the building as offices in 1965, upon construction of a new elementary school. The Board continued using the building until 1995, after which the Ritchie County Historical Museum organization was established and purchased the building. Two years later, the National Park Service recognized the historical significance of the building and placed in on the National Register of Historic Places. The building is named in honor of Thomas M. Harris, a Harrisville native, rising to the rank of General while serving the Union cause during The Civil War.
Explore the site on